Toggle Menu
Sign In

ClubLink News

The Shag Bag

31 OCT 2017

Shanks of the Week

Let this serve as a reminder why you shouldn’t attempt a Happy Gilmore swing on the second level of a driving range facility. Fortunately, a safety net was there to catch this moron!

 

How to waste $14 in one shot …

Sexist Rule Ruins High School Golf Tournament

Emily Nash, a high school junior at Lunenburg High School in Massachusetts, competed in and won the Central Mass. Division 3 boys’ golf tournament by four shots last week. However, Nash was not awarded the first-place trophy due to an archaic Massachusetts Interscholastic Athletic Association (MIAA) rule that prevents girls from being declared the individual winners in all boys’ events. Furthermore, according to MIAA rules, “Girls playing on a fall boys’ team cannot be entered in the Boys Fall Individual Tournament. They can only play in the Boys Team Tournament.” As a result, Nash did not receive an invitation to next week’s state tournament in Great Barrington. That invitation was instead awarded to Nico Ciolino, an Advanced Math and Science Academy Charter School junior, who ended up winning the tournament’s individual honours despite finishing four shots back of Nash. “It felt like I cheated in a sense because I didn’t win and I got the trophy,” Ciolino told reporters. “It didn’t feel right with me. I felt bad.” Ciolino reportedly offered the trophy to Nash after the ceremony, but she refused to accept it. It should be noted that Nash was informed of the rule by tournament director, Kevin Riordan, prior to the start of the tournament on Tuesday. Nonetheless, it is disappointing that the MIAA was unwilling to allow for an exception to its rules in this particular instance.

 

 

Bragging Rights

Jordan Spieth was a guest on CBS’s the Late Late Show last week and told host James Corden a great story about a golf match that he had lost to former President Obama earlier in the week. Spieth explained that the President had a chance to win the match on the 18th hole, but first needed to sink a nearly impossible ten-foot putt that broke twice. Plus, as if the putt wasn’t already difficult enough, a small crowd of spectators had gathered around the green to see if he could make it. However, Spieth informed Corden that the gallery only made former President Obama more confident, and before the former Commander in Chief approached the ball, he told the Texan, “When there’s a crowd on the last hole, I never miss.” And wouldn’t you know it; former President Obama was right and drained the putt to win the match! “Perfect speed,” Spieth recounted. “Right in the middle of the cup!”

Video of the Week

Marty Dou and Matt Kuchar duke it out on a ping pong table during a rain delay at the WGC-HSBC Champions.

 

Swing of the Week