Toggle Menu
Sign In

ClubLink News

Rules Quiz

12 DEC 2016

Daniel and Shona are playing in a stroke play competition over 18 holes. As their Referee, you must answer each question correctly to ensure they complete the round according to the Rules of Golf.

Hole 1. Shona and Daniel are drawn to play together starting at 9:00. Shona arrives at the appointed time but Daniel arrives at 9:02 after Shona has played from the teeing ground. Daniel plays immediately. What is the ruling?

  1. Daniel incurs a penalty of two strokes for failing to start at the right time
  2. Shona incurs a penalty of two strokes for starting early
  3. There is no penalty to either player

Hole 2. Shona tees up at the 2nd hole and plays from outside the teeing ground. What is the ruling?

  1. Shona incurs a penalty of two strokes and the ball is played as it lies
  2. Shona incurs a penalty of two strokes and must correct the error
  3. Shona is disqualified

Hole 3. While waiting to putt out on the 3rd green, Daniel makes a few practice putts just off the putting green. What is the ruling?

  1. Daniel incurs a penalty of two strokes
  2. Daniel incurs a penalty of one stroke
  3. There is no penalty

Hole 4. Daniel swings at and misses the ball. On closer inspection, he then realises that the ball he had tried to play was not his ball. What is the ruling?

  1. There is no penalty
  2. Daniel incurs a penalty of two strokes and the stroke counts in his score
  3. Daniel incurs a penalty of two strokes and the stroke is disregarded in his score

Hole 5. Shona’s ball has come to rest in a greenside bunker. Before making her stroke, she steps into another greenside bunker and takes several practice swings to assess the consistency of the sand. What is the ruling?

  1. Shona incurs a penalty of two strokes for testing the condition of a similar hazard
  2. Shona only incurs a penalty if her ball subsequently comes to rest in the other hazard
  3. There is no penalty

Hole 6. In making a practice swing near his ball, Daniel creates a divot, which lands on and causes his ball in play to move. What is the ruling?

  1. There is no penalty and the ball must be replaced
  2. Daniel incurs a penalty of one stroke and must replace the ball
  3. Daniel incurs a penalty of one stroke and must play the ball as it lies

Hole 7. Daniel’s ball comes to rest on an immovable obstruction beside the green. He identifies the nearest point of relief and measures one club-length in which he correctly drops the ball. The ball then rolls and comes to rest more than two club-lengths from where it first struck a part of the course. What is the ruling?

  1. Daniel must play the ball as it lies
  2. Daniel must place the ball at the spot where it first struck the course
  3. The ball has rolled into a situation where a re-drop is required without penalty

Hole 8. Shona’s ball lies on the putting green. She putts and her ball strikes the unattended flagstick in the hole. What is the ruling?

  1. There is no penalty
  2. Shona is penalised two strokes and the ball must be played as it lies
  3. Shona must cancel the stroke and replay it without penalty

Hole 9. Daniel has a short putt for a par. Holding the flagstick in one hand he holes the short putt by gripping the putter with his other hand. What is the ruling?

  1. There is no penalty
  2. Daniel is penalised two strokes
  3. Daniel is disqualified

Hole 10. Shona finds both her original tee shot and her provisional ball out of bounds. She returns to the tee and puts another ball into play. How many strokes has she now played?

  1. 3
  2. 4
  3. 5

Hole 11. Daniel’s ball has come to rest beside Shona’s ball in a bunker. Daniel marks and lifts his ball so Shona can play her stroke. When Shona plays, she leaves a big splash mark in the sand, altering the lie of Daniel’s ball. What is the ruling?

  1. Shona incurs a penalty of two strokes for altering the lie
  2. There is no penalty and Daniel must accept the altered lie
  3. There is no penalty and the lie must be recreated

Hole 12. Before Shona plays her next stroke, Daniel voluntarily shows her what she has been doing wrong on her backswing and how to correct it. Shona objects to this. What is the ruling?

  1. There is no penalty to either player
  2. Shona incurs a penalty of two strokes for asking for advice
  3. Daniel incurs a penalty of two strokes for giving advice

Hole 13. Shona finds a ball in the rough which she thinks may be hers, but she cannot see her identification mark. She advises Daniel that she intends to identify the ball and then lifts the ball to see her identification mark on it. She then carefully replaces the ball and plays her second shot. What is the ruling?

  1. There is no penalty
  2. Shona incurs a penalty of one stroke
  3. Shona incurs a penalty of two strokes

Hole 14. Daniel’s ball is on the apron of the putting green and when Shona plays from the greenside bunker, she deposits sand on and around Daniel’s ball. What is the ruling?

  1. Shona is penalised two strokes for altering Daniel’s lie
  2. Daniel may remove the sand but must not clean the ball
  3. Daniel may remove the sand deposited by Shona’s stroke and may lift and clean the ball

Hole 15. Daniel’s ball has come to rest on a towel through the green. What is the ruling?

  1. Daniel must play the ball as it lies
  2. Daniel may drop the ball within one club-length of the nearest point of relief
  3. Daniel may drop the ball as near as possible to the spot directly under the place where the ball lay on the towel

Hole 16. Shona manages to drop her driver in the water hazard when walking up the 16th hole. The grip becomes wet and slippery and she asks Daniel if she can change the club. What is the ruling?

  1. Shona can change the club as the club is now unfit for play
  2. Shona can change the club if Daniel agrees and gives her permission
  3. Shona is not entitled to change the club but she can continue to use it

Hole 17. Daniel’s ball has come to rest in a greenside bunker in a difficult lie. He decides to declare the ball unplayable and drop the ball behind the point where it lay in line with the hole but outside of the bunker. Shona disagrees with this and states that he must drop the ball in the bunker. What is the ruling?

  1. Daniel is entitled to proceed under Rule 28b but the ball must be dropped in the bunker
  2. Daniel is entitled to proceed under Rule 28b and may drop the ball outside the bunker
  3. Daniel must select another option for relief under Rule 28

Hole 18. After finishing play on the 18th green, Daniel and Shona swap their score cards and add up their scores. Shona returns her score card to the Committee. The hole by hole scores are correct, but her total score is one stroke lower than her actual score. What is the ruling?

  1. Shona incurs a penalty of two strokes for returning a lower score than she is entitled to
  2. The Committee must correct the error, without penalty to Shona
  3. Shona is disqualified

Answers

Hole 1. Shona and Daniel are drawn to play together starting at 9:00. Shona arrives at the appointed time but Daniel arrives at 9:02 after Shona has played from the teeing ground. Daniel plays immediately. What is the ruling?

  1. Daniel incurs a penalty of two strokes for failing to start at the right time
  2. Shona incurs a penalty of two strokes for starting early
  3. There is no penalty to either player

The correct answer is 1.

Rule 6-3a. All competitors in a group must be present and ready to play at the time established by the Committee. In this case both players must be on the 1st tee for 9:00. The order of play is not relevant.

Hole 2. Shona tees up at the 2nd hole and plays from outside the teeing ground. What is the ruling?

  1. Shona incurs a penalty of two strokes and the ball is played as it lies
  2. Shona incurs a penalty of two strokes and must correct the error
  3. Shona is disqualified

The correct answer is 2.

Rule 11-4. When starting a hole, if the player plays from outside the teeing ground, they incur a penalty of two strokes and must then play a ball from within the teeing ground. The stroke from outside the teeing ground and any subsequent strokes by Shona on the hole prior to the correction of the mistake do not count in her score.

Hole 3. While waiting to putt out on the 3rd green, Daniel makes a few practice putts just off the putting green. What is the ruling?

  1. Daniel incurs a penalty of two strokes
  2. Daniel incurs a penalty of one stroke
  3. There is no penalty

The correct answer is 1.

Rule 7-2. A player must not make a practice stroke during the play of a hole. Practise putting or chipping on or near the putting green of the hole last played is permitted but only once the player has completed play of the hole. As Daniel still had to complete play of the 3rd hole, practising is a breach of Rule 7-2. It is worth nothing that the Committee may, in the conditions of the competition, prohibit such practice on or near the putting green of the hole last played.

Hole 4. Daniel swings at and misses the ball. On closer inspection, he then realises that the ball he had tried to play was not his ball. What is the ruling?

  1. There is no penalty
  2. Daniel incurs a penalty of two strokes and the stroke counts in his score
  3. Daniel incurs a penalty of two strokes and the stroke is disregarded in his score

The correct answer is 3.

Rule 15-3b. Since Daniel made a stroke with a wrong ball, he incurs a penalty of two strokes for playing a wrong ball.

Hole 5. Shona’s ball has come to rest in a greenside bunker. Before making her stroke, she steps into another greenside bunker and takes several practice swings to assess the consistency of the sand. What is the ruling?

  1. Shona incurs a penalty of two strokes for testing the condition of a similar hazard
  2. Shona only incurs a penalty if her ball subsequently comes to rest in the other hazard
  3. There is no penalty

The correct answer is 1.

Rule 13-4a. Before making a stroke at a ball that is in a hazard, the player must not test the condition of the hazard or any similar hazard. As Shona touched the sand with a club when making a practice swing, this constitutes testing the condition of the hazard and is a breach of the Rule.

Hole 6. In making a practice swing near his ball, Daniel creates a divot, which lands on and causes his ball in play to move. What is the ruling?

  1. There is no penalty and the ball must be replaced
  2. Daniel incurs a penalty of one stroke and must replace the ball
  3. Daniel incurs a penalty of one stroke and must play the ball as it lies

The correct answer is 2.

Rule 18-2. Daniel is deemed to have caused his ball in play to move in breach of Rule 18-2. He incurs a penalty of one stroke and must replace the ball.

Hole 7. Daniel’s ball comes to rest on an immovable obstruction beside the green. He identifies the nearest point of relief and measures one club-length in which he correctly drops the ball. The ball then rolls and comes to rest more than two club-lengths from where it first struck a part of the course. What is the ruling?

  1. Daniel must play the ball as it lies
  2. Daniel must place the ball at the spot where it first struck the course
  3. The ball has rolled into a situation where a re-drop is required without penalty

The correct answer is 3.

Rule 20-2c. A dropped ball must be re-dropped if it rolls to and comes to rest more than two club-lengths from where it first struck a part of the course. Daniel must re-drop the ball without penalty.

Hole 8. Shona’s ball lies on the putting green. She putts and her ball strikes the unattended flagstick in the hole. What is the ruling?

  1. There is no penalty
  2. Shona is penalised two strokes and the ball must be played as it lies
  3. Shona must cancel the stroke and replay it without penalty

The correct answer is 2.

Rule 17-3. The player’s ball must not strike the unattended flagstick in the hole when the stroke has been made from the putting green. Shona could have asked to have the flagstick attended or removed to hopefully avoid a penalty under this Rule.

Hole 9. Daniel has a short putt for a par. Holding the flagstick in one hand he holes the short putt by gripping the putter with his other hand. What is the ruling?

  1. There is no penalty
  2. Daniel is penalised two strokes
  3. Daniel is disqualified

The correct answer is 1.

Rule 17-2 and Decision 17-1/5. Provided the player has removed the flagstick from the hole and the ball does not strike the flagstick, there is no penalty. If the ball were to strike the flagstick, Daniel would have been in breach of Rule 17-3a.

Hole 10. Shona finds both her original tee shot and her provisional ball out of bounds. She returns to the tee and puts another ball into play. How many strokes has she now played?

  1. 3
  2. 4
  3. 5

The correct answer is 3.

Rule 27-1. A stroke played with a provisional ball and any penalty related to it is not disregarded unless the provisional ball is abandoned. As both the original ball and provisional ball are located out of bounds, the third ball played from the tee is the ball in play and the relevant penalties that applied to the first and the second ball count in her score.

Hole 11. Daniel’s ball has come to rest beside Shona’s ball in a bunker. Daniel marks and lifts his ball so Shona can play her stroke. When Shona plays, she leaves a big splash mark in the sand, altering the lie of Daniel’s ball. What is the ruling?

  1. Shona incurs a penalty of two strokes for altering the lie
  2. There is no penalty and Daniel must accept the altered lie
  3. There is no penalty and the lie must be recreated

The correct answer is 3.

Rule 22.2 and Rule 20-3b. There is no penalty to either player. The original lie of Daniel’s ball must be recreated and his ball replaced.

Hole 12. Before Shona plays her next stroke, Daniel voluntarily shows her what she has been doing wrong on her backswing and how to correct it. Shona objects to this. What is the ruling?

  1. There is no penalty to either player
  2. Shona incurs a penalty of two strokes for asking for advice
  3. Daniel incurs a penalty of two strokes for giving advice

The correct answer is 3.

Rule 8-1. A player must not give advice to anyone in the competition playing on the course. Advice is any counsel or suggestion that could influence the player in determining their play, choice of club or method of making a stroke. By showing Shona what she is doing wrong and how to amend her swing, Daniel is giving advice.

Hole 13. Shona finds a ball in the rough which she thinks may be hers, but she cannot see her identification mark. She advises Daniel that she intends to identify the ball and then lifts the ball to see her identification mark on it. She then carefully replaces the ball and plays her second shot. What is the ruling?

  1. There is no penalty
  2. Shona incurs a penalty of one stroke
  3. Shona incurs a penalty of two strokes

The correct answer is 2.

Rule 12-2. The player is entitled to lift the ball for identification. However, before lifting or moving the ball, the player must first mark the position of the ball. By failing to mark the position of the ball, Shona incurs a penalty of one stroke.

Hole 14. Daniel’s ball is on the apron of the putting green and when Shona plays from the greenside bunker, she deposits sand on and around Daniel’s ball. What is the ruling?

  1. Shona is penalised two strokes for altering Daniel’s lie
  2. Daniel may remove the sand but must not clean the ball
  3. Daniel may remove the sand deposited by Shona’s stroke and may lift and clean the ball

The correct answer is 3.

Rule 13-2 and Decision 13-2/8.5. A player is entitled to the lie and line of play he had when his ball came to rest. Accordingly, in equity, Daniel is entitled to remove the sand deposited by Shona and if required, lift the ball and clean it, without penalty.

Hole 15. Daniel’s ball has come to rest on a towel through the green. What is the ruling?

  1. Daniel must play the ball as it lies
  2. Daniel may drop the ball within one club-length of the nearest point of relief
  3. Daniel may drop the ball as near as possible to the spot directly under the place where the ball lay on the towel

The correct answer is 3.

Rule 24-1b. If a ball lies on the obstruction, the ball may be lifted and the obstruction removed. The ball must be dropped as near as possible the spot directly under the place where the ball lay on the obstruction, but not nearer the hole.

Hole 16. Shona manages to drop her driver in the water hazard when walking up the 16th hole. The grip becomes wet and slippery and she asks Daniel if she can change the club. What is the ruling?

  1. Shona can change the club as the club is now unfit for play
  2. Shona can change the club if Daniel agrees and gives her permission
  3. Shona is not entitled to change the club but she can continue to use it

The correct answer is 3.

Note to Rule 4-3a. A club is “unfit for play” if it is substantially damaged, but not if the grip becomes slippery. Shona is not entitled to change the club but may continue to use it with the grip wet.

Hole 17. Daniel’s ball has come to rest in a greenside bunker in a difficult lie. He decides to declare the ball unplayable and drop the ball behind the point where it lay in line with the hole but outside of the bunker. Shona disagrees with this and states that he must drop the ball in the bunker. What is the ruling?

  1. Daniel is entitled to proceed under Rule 28b but the ball must be dropped in the bunker
  2. Daniel is entitled to proceed under Rule 28b and may drop the ball outside the bunker
  3. Daniel must select another option for relief under Rule 28

The correct answer is 1.

Rule 28. If the unplayable ball is in a bunker, the player may proceed under Rule 28a, Rule 28b or Rule 28c. If Daniel elects to proceed under Rule 28b or Rule 28c, he must drop the ball in the bunker.

Hole 18. After finishing play on the 18th green, Daniel and Shona swap their score cards and add up their scores. Shona returns her score card to the Committee. The hole by hole scores are correct, but her total score is one stroke lower than her actual score. What is the ruling?

  1. Shona incurs a penalty of two strokes for returning a lower score than she is entitled to
  2. The Committee must correct the error, without penalty to Shona
  3. Shona is disqualified

The correct answer is 2.

Rule 6-6d. The competitor is responsible only for the correctness of the score recorded for each hole (Rule 6-6d). The Committee is responsible for the addition of scores (Rule 33-5). As Shona had recorded the correct hole by hole scores, the Committee should amend the total, without penalty to Shona.

How many did you get correct?

18: PGA Tour Pro
12-17: Web.com Tour Player
7-11: Amateur Golfer
Under 7: Hacker